The Female Stereotype; Restrictive or Inspirational?

My sister text me last night to let me know she had bumped into my friends ex boyfriend and to ask, “Why did they break up again? Can’t remember if we hate him?”. I mean, I know guys can pee standing up and don’t have periods blah blah, but there is something about female solidarity, as demonstrated by my sister, that is just so great. If you screw over our friend, we hate you. If you screw over our sister’s friend’s uni-roomate’s cousin, we hate you. 

After a gruelling university education which included a heavy dose of gender theory so that we were all very much aware that gender is SOCIALLY CONSTRUCTED, and not biologically determined, I would be reluctant to assign certain traits solely to the female population. But then there’s just something about the female stereotype (yes Judith Butler, I acknowledge this has been culturally constructed, too), that just screams solidarity and, quite frankly, I love it.

It isn’t just when it comes to the ins and outs of relationships, break ups and make ups within your friendship group. Historically, women have joined together to fight for freedom, women’s rights and greater gender equality. Over the last few years, in particular, there has been a rise across the world of women joining together to celebrate other women. National Women’s Day grows bigger each year, recognising the political, social and economic achievements of women, in order to #MakeItHappen (what’s great about this hashtag is that ‘it’ can signal change, equality, freedom, or, quite literally. anything at all – just take action, do something, make it happen).

So, while gender theorists such as Butler have highlighted the destructive effects of assigning stereotypes to certain genders, I also think it is important to recognise the immeasurable positive outcomes of a pervading female stereotype. For me, the female stereotype has innumerable connotations. Not only has it historically signified compassion, sensitivity and humility, it has also come to mean strength, solidarity and independence. For this reason, I am proud to call myself a woman, and to align myself with a stereotype that has inspired many to fight for change.

image1

In my every day life, I always feel grateful that I am able to sit with my friends (preferably with a glass of wine) and discuss anything and everything, big or small, without feeling judged, embarrassed or ashamed. My girls are my greatest support system and, quite honestly, I think we would be lost without one another. Although it is a stereotypical female activity to share all of your secrets whilst binge eating ice cream and watching rom coms, I couldn’t be happier to be a part of that stereotype. Not only because it is so much fun (which it really is), but also because, on a larger scale, that stereotype has allowed so many women to feel a part of something great. It is this feeling of unity with women throughout the world that has encouraged women to band together and fight for change and I think there is something truly inspiring about that.

Leave a comment